The 10 Best Remote AI Training Jobs You Can Do From Home

Compare 10 remote AI training platforms: what the work is, who can join, advertised pay, how each one pays, and the assessments you need to pass to get started.

Emile ChoghiUpdated October 4, 202613 min read

Some links below are from partners who may pay us if you sign up or buy something. This is how we earn revenue. It doesn't change our recommendations, but it does keep the site running.

AI companies pay people to write prompts, grade chatbot answers, check facts, record audio and solve problems in their field so models can learn from it. Most of this work runs through a handful of contractor platforms. Below are the 10 we think are worth applying to, what each one pays, who it accepts, and what the hiring process looks like.

1. Outlier

Outlier runs projects where contributors write and review training data and rate model responses, from generalist writing tasks to coding, math, science and language work.

  • Pay: Rates depend on your expertise, the project and your location, and the rate is shown before a project starts. Current listings advertise maximums from up to $8/hour (Spanish, Mexico) to up to $35/hour (General Inbound). Lower rates can apply to onboarding work.
  • Who can join: Eligibility is set per opportunity. The General Inbound role is open in Argentina, Australia, Canada, the UK, Mexico, New Zealand, Puerto Rico and the US. You need at least an associate degree, a valid ID and mobile phone from your country, a resume and a LinkedIn profile. Outlier does not sponsor visas.
  • Payout: Weekly on Tuesdays, for work done the previous Tuesday through Monday, via PayPal, Airtm or ACH bank transfer.
  • Hiring steps: Build a profile, verify your identity and complete skill screenings (Outlier estimates 30 to 90 minutes), then pass project-specific qualification tasks.

Only a few opportunities were listed on the public board when we checked, so you may join the general pool and wait for a matching project. For a firsthand look at the work, read our Outlier AI review.

Outlier AIOutlier AI is a platform that connects domain experts with projects focused on training and improving AI models.Sign up

2. DataAnnotation

DataAnnotation offers task-based work you pick up whenever you like: evaluating chatbot responses, writing and fact-checking, coding problems and language tasks.

  • Pay: The generalist listing advertises $25 to $50/hour. The FAQ lists $40 to $150+ for coding and $40 to $125+ for STEM and professional work. Each task shows its rate.
  • Who can join: The site does not publish a country list. The generalist listing says no degree is required, while the FAQ sets a bachelor's degree or equivalent experience as the baseline. You need fluent English and a government photo ID for identity verification.
  • Payout: Weekly payouts to PayPal, which arrive within a few days of a withdrawal request.
  • Hiring steps: Sign up through the official flow, choose a qualification track and take the Starter Assessment (about an hour, or 1 to 2 hours for specialist tracks). You get one attempt with no retakes, and if you are not accepted you may not hear back.

Our DataAnnotation review goes deeper on the assessment and the day-to-day work.

DataAnnotationDataAnnotation is a crowdsourcing platform that offers flexible, remote jobs focused on data annotation tasks to help train AI models.Sign up

3. Alignerr

Alignerr hires subject matter experts and language specialists to create and review training data. It posts thousands of individual jobs, many tied to a specific language, country or field.

  • Pay: Rates are set per job and listed before you start. The homepage advertises $80/hour as "average pay." Current listings range from $15 to $35/hour for language transcription leads to $40 to $120/hour for some specialist roles.
  • Who can join: The FAQ welcomes applicants worldwide, but the same FAQ says identity verification accepts only US-issued IDs, so non-US applicants should confirm they can pass that step first. Visa holders can join only if their visa allows contract work.
  • Payout: Payment setup uses Stripe Connect or PayPal depending on your location. Alignerr does not publish an individual payout schedule.
  • Hiring steps: Sign in with Google, upload a resume, set preferences and verify your identity through Persona. Some jobs add an AI interview called Zara or a domain assessment, and every project starts with a calibration phase. There are no minimum hours, and some projects require Hubstaff time tracking.

Read our full Alignerr review for the ID verification limits, how pay works and what contributors report about unpaid work.

AlignerrAlignerr is an innovative platform designed to connect subject matter experts with opportunities to contribute to the development of generative AI models.Sign up

4. Mindrift

Mindrift is operated by Toloka. It has two tracks: open "all-access" tasks anyone can start after registering, and specialized projects for domain experts in fields like law, medicine, finance, science and coding. It also runs voice and video recording projects.

  • Pay: Mindrift advertises $15 to $100+ per hour depending on the project and your expertise, and each task shows a fixed reward before you start. Open projects on the day we checked listed caps from about $6/hour for video recording to $50/hour for design roles.
  • Who can join: Age 18 or older. Mindrift publishes the countries it excludes rather than an eligible list: sanctioned countries such as China, Russia, Iran and Cuba are barred, and Kenya, Switzerland and Taiwan are not currently supported. All-access tasks have no education requirement; specialized projects usually want a relevant degree and experience.
  • Payout: Twice a month through Payoneer or Tipalti (PayPal), around the 5th and 20th, for accepted tasks.
  • Hiring steps: Register and start all-access tasks right away, or apply to a specialized project with your CV, pass its assessments and verify your identity.
MindriftMindrift is a platform that connects freelancers with opportunities to help train AI systems by writing, editing, or annotating content.Sign up

5. Handshake AI

Handshake AI is the AI training program from the Handshake career network. Fellows work remotely and part-time on projects that test and improve AI models, from general evaluation to finance, game design and software engineering.

  • Pay: Advertised rates run from up to $40/hour for AI Evaluation Specialists to up to $80/hour for FP&A analysts and up to $125/hour for game developers.
  • Who can join: You must be based in the US with valid work authorization. F-1 students eligible for CPT or OPT may qualify, but STEM OPT is not supported. Projects range from associate degree holders to PhDs, and no AI experience is required.
  • Payout: Weekly. Handshake sends payouts to its partner pay platform (set up through Stripe) by Wednesday afternoon for the previous Monday through Sunday, and funds can take up to 48 hours to appear.
  • Hiring steps: Apply and verify your identity, get matched to a project, then complete project training before you start paid work.

Read our full Handshake AI review for the SSN and background check steps, time tracking rules and what fellows report about pay.

Handshake AIHandshake AI pays US-based students, graduates and professionals to evaluate and improve AI models on remote, part-time projects.Sign up

6. Mercor

Mercor matches experienced professionals with hourly contract projects for AI labs. It is aimed at people with real expertise, such as engineers, doctors, lawyers, finance professionals and PhDs.

  • Pay: Mercor advertises an average contracted rate of $108/hour, and sample listings we checked ranged from $60 to $250/hour depending on role and expertise.
  • Who can join: Mercor publishes the countries it can pay and a list of places where it cannot onboard anyone, including China, Pakistan, Kenya, Ukraine and Russia. Most roles expect at least undergraduate-level expertise, and many want years of professional experience or an advanced degree.
  • Payout: Weekly through Stripe or Wise, usually processed by Wednesday for the prior week. The first Stripe payout has a 7-day hold. You log hours in the Insightful time tracker, which can take periodic screenshots.
  • Hiring steps: Create a profile, take an AI interview of about 20 minutes (up to three retakes) and any recommended assessments, then apply to listings or receive offers. The interview and most assessments are unpaid; a one-time work trial is paid.

Read our full Mercor review for the Insightful time-tracking rules, the 2026 data breach and what contractors report.

MercorMercor connects experienced professionals with hourly contract work training and evaluating AI models.Sign up

7. Meridial by Invisible

Invisible Technologies now runs its contractor program as Meridial. You apply to individual AI training projects, each with its own rate, location and requirements. It listed more than 500 open projects when we checked.

  • Pay: Rates are published on each project. For example, a US AI Generalist project that requires no experience offers $20/hour, and a US Coding Specialist project lists $8 to $65/hour, with the final rate based on experience, expertise and location.
  • Who can join: Some projects are open worldwide and others are limited to countries such as the US, Singapore, India or South Korea. You need clear written English and your own computer with at least 8GB of RAM, 10 Mbps internet and a camera for identity confirmation. Meridial does not sponsor visas.
  • Payout: Every two weeks to the account in your profile. Meridial says all time spent on projects is paid.
  • Hiring steps: Create a profile, complete a brief confirmation step, then apply to projects. If you are matched, you sign a Statement of Work for that project. Joining does not guarantee work.
Meridial by InvisibleMeridial is Invisible's network of independent contractors who apply to paid AI training projects.Sign up

8. CrowdGen

CrowdGen, from Appen, has repositioned itself as an expert contributor network. It matches people to AI projects in their field and says it has paid more than 500,000 contributors.

  • Pay: CrowdGen advertises top rates by domain, such as up to $90/hour for healthcare administrators, $150/hour for software engineers, $400/hour for legal and $450/hour for medical clinicians. Pay depends on your location and skills, and rates are stated before you begin. These are maximums.
  • Who can join: Each project sets its own location rules, and you must work from the country (and US state) on your profile, not while traveling abroad. Most projects need domain expertise but not technical skills.
  • Payout: Monthly. Hours are invoiced by the 9th of the next month and paid around the 14th to 20th, via PayPal, local bank transfer, Airtm, SWIFT, Payoneer or gift cards depending on your country. Payout providers may charge fees.
  • Hiring steps: Create a profile, pass a review and verification step, then apply to projects. Most projects have a qualification step, and some use a short AI interview (about 5 minutes for language, 15 for domain expertise) with usually one attempt.

See our CrowdGen review for more on how projects work.

CrowdGenCrowdGen is a platform that allows individuals to earn money by completing online tasks that help improve AI technology.Sign up

9. HumanSignal

HumanSignal, the company behind the Label Studio annotation tool, runs a contributor program for AI response evaluation, data collection and expert review.

  • Pay: Example base rates for US residents are $22 to $45/hour for AI response evaluators, $15 to $35/hour for data collection and $60 to $180/hour for domain expert reviewers. Each project shows its rate before you accept.
  • Who can join: HumanSignal says projects are available in 100+ countries but does not publish a list. AI experience is not required, and domain experts can qualify for specialty projects.
  • Payout: The application page lists a weekly cadence but also says cadence varies. You are paid for accepted tasks; the payout method is not stated publicly.
  • Hiring steps: Create an account, build a profile with your skills and availability, and verify your identity before any paid work. Some projects add a skill screen, calibration task or credential review, which takes from the same day to 2 days.
HumanSignalHumanSignal pays contributors to evaluate AI responses, collect data and review model output on remote projects.Sign up

10. Stellar

Stellar keeps a pool of generalist annotators who evaluate and correct chatbot answers, plus separate software engineering roles.

  • Pay: Stellar's FAQ gives a $25/hour base rate for the Generalist pool, with project rates that vary. Engineering roles list post-qualification rates from $35 to $70/hour up to $80 to $120/hour.
  • Who can join: Age 18 or older, fluent English and reliable internet. The Generalist listing does not state eligible countries, so check before you take the test.
  • Payout: Weekly, and a PayPal account is required.
  • Hiring steps: Fill out a short profile, take a skill-match test, sign contractor agreements and set up payment. Stellar onboards from the pool on a rolling basis as matching projects come up, with no set timeframe.
Stellar AIStellar is a platform connecting skilled individuals with flexible, remote opportunities to contribute to cutting-edge AI projects.Sign up

Other options for specialists

Some AI companies hire trainers directly through their own job boards. These are contract job postings with interviews rather than open platforms. Cohere has part-time annotation contracts open only in Canada at CAD $30 to $40/hour. xAI posts AI Tutor roles with US ranges of $35 to $100/hour depending on the field. Turing lists fixed-term contract roles for engineers and other specialists, many near full time.

At a glance

  • Outlier: up to $8 to $35/hour on current listings; weekly via PayPal, Airtm or ACH; country set per role, associate degree required.
  • DataAnnotation: $25 to $50/hour generalist, $40 to $150+ coding; weekly via PayPal; no country list published, ID required.
  • Alignerr: $15 to $120/hour by job; Stripe Connect or PayPal; worldwide in theory, but ID check takes US IDs.
  • Mindrift: $15 to $100+/hour advertised; twice monthly via Payoneer or Tipalti (PayPal); most countries, 18+.
  • Handshake AI: up to $40 to $125/hour by role; weekly via Stripe; US only, with work authorization.
  • Mercor: $60 to $250/hour on sample listings; weekly via Stripe or Wise; experienced professionals, many countries excluded.
  • Meridial by Invisible: $8 to $65/hour on sample US projects; every two weeks; set per project, some worldwide.
  • CrowdGen: up to $90 to $450/hour by domain; monthly via PayPal, bank transfer and others; set per project.
  • HumanSignal: $15 to $180/hour (US examples); weekly or varies; 100+ countries.
  • Stellar: $25/hour generalist base; weekly via PayPal; countries not stated.

Tips before you apply

  • Expect unpaid assessments. Most platforms screen you with tests, AI interviews or calibration tasks first. Mercor says its interview and most assessments are unpaid, and DataAnnotation's Starter Assessment is one attempt only. Take them when you have focused time.
  • Know about time trackers. Hourly projects often require tracking software that can take screenshots of your screen. Alignerr uses Hubstaff on some projects and Mercor uses Insightful.
  • Watch for impersonators. Scammers pose as these companies with fake job offers over text, email and messaging apps. Real platforms do not charge you to join, buy equipment or take training. DataAnnotation says its official sign-up flow is the only way to apply. Apply only through the company's own website.
  • Availability goes up and down. Getting accepted does not guarantee steady work. Projects end, and some weeks have little or nothing. Joining two or three platforms smooths this out.
  • Plan for taxes. These are independent contractor roles in almost every case, so set money aside for taxes.

If you are still weighing whether this kind of work is worth it, our guide on whether training AI is a legit job covers the pros and cons, and our list of laptops and tools for AI training work covers the setup. You can also browse our latest AI-related listings, which we update as new platforms open up.

Share this guide

Liked this? Get the next one by email.

New guides and reviews, a few times a month.

Free, occasional, unsubscribe anytime. Privacy policy

All guides